Chocolate-Cherry Sourdough French Toast

In the spirit of this day we have established to celebrate love and warm fuzzy feelings, I figured I would jump on the wagon and post an appropriately indulgent breakfast recipe.  Kevin and I don’t buy gifts or spend lavishly to show our affection for each other, but we do share some good food (and, I did make him a super sappy video slideshow late last night!). The chocolate cherry sourdough bread adds a little extra level of aphrodisiac to this standard breakfast fare that makes it perfect for a romantic morning (with a mimosa, perhaps? or some Bailey’s in your coffee?).

This bread is from Apple Ridge Farm. For months, I’ve arrived at their farmer’s market stand just after they sold out of the chocolate-cherry sourdough they occasionally bake. I kept hearing about how great these loaves were and seeing chatter about it on Facebook, but my less-than-punctual self was always just a few minutes late to market. So, I was thrilled when they decided to bake one last batch of this unusual flavor for the season. I picked up a loaf and started munching on it before I even left the parking lot (I think bread-loaf munching is a trait I inherited from my father). It was delicious! Not too sweet, chewy, tangy and crusty. All I could think of was how great it would be as French toast. So, even though I am not a huge breakfast maker, I mixed up an eggy custard and transformed some of this loaf into a yummy morning treat.

French toast is one of the easiest breakfast sweets to make. I normally add 1/2 tsp of vanilla, but I didn’t want to mask the dark chocolate and dried cherries in the bread, so I left it out of this recipe. It’s a pretty standard recipe, so use whatever bread you’d like, but if you can get your hands on chocolate-cherry, run, do not walk, to the nearest loaf and buy it to make this meal!

Chocolate-Cherry Sourdough French Toast

Ingredients:

Ingredients

Ingredients

Directions:

  1. Mix eggs and milk in medium bowl.
  2. Microwave honey for about 10-20 seconds, or until runny, and whisk into egg mixture.
  3. Add cinnamon and whisk well.

    custard

    Cinnamon Custard (if you have extra left over, it tastes good scrambled up in a pan!)

  4. Melt butter on griddle or skillet.
  5. Dip bread in egg mixture, making sure to coat both sides.
  6. Cook bread on butter in skillet for 2-3 minutes per side.
  7. Serve with additional butter or syrup, if desired.
Chocolate Cherry Sourdough French Toast

Chocolate Cherry Sourdough French Toast

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

