Root Veggie Tagine

Cold weather root vegetable season is quickly coming to an end—Radishes, pea shoots, ramps and spring onions are appearing, and we are welcoming them! This will likely be the last turnip-centric recipe I post for this year (we’re as happy about that as you are!). This Morrocan-inspired dish is ridiculously easy to prepare in a slow cooker, and the seasonal vegetables are enhanced with the addition of several rich spices. Whenever one of my friends is setting off on a global vacation (a luxury I have yet to be able to afford), I always hand them a few dollars and ask if they’d mind bringing me some spices if they happen to visit a market. I’ve been fortunate to build up a lovely spice collection this way, with friends bringing me samplings of authentic spices from places as far as Turkey and India. I used several of these spices in this meal to create layers of flavor. The addition of dried apricots or golden raisins would add another desired complexity in flavor. I forgot to take pictures while I was cooking this, but I think it’s pretty easy to put together.

Root Veggie Tagine

Ingredients:

  • 3 lbs root vegetables (I used a combination of carrots, turnips, sweet potato, red potato, and rutabaga)
  • 4 dried apricots or a handful golden raisins, optional
  • 2 tsp. turmeric
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1 tsp. ginger
  • 1/2 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. chili powder
  • 1 T. dried parsley
  • Hot sauce, to taste
  • 1.5 c. vegetable broth

Directions:

  1. Peel vegetables and cut into 1-1.5″ cubes. (I left the peel on the red potatoes & carrots.) Chop dried apricots, if using.
  2. Place root vegetables and dried fruit into slow cooker.
  3. Sprinkle with spices and hot sauce.
  4. Pour vegetable broth over vegetables.
  5. Cook in slow cooker for 8 hours on low heat.
  6. Serve over rice or couscous.
Root Veggie Tagine

Exotic flavors blend into layers of flavor in this easy dish.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 57 other followers

