Weekend Hodgepodge

After a ridiculously busy (planned) and pretty wretched (not planned) week, I was really looking forward to a fun weekend. Highlights of last week included my car being subject to a hit-and-run while it was parked at work, my camera being stolen, and my ice cream sandwich disappearing from the work freezer. On a positive note, I found out my co-chair and I were awarded scholarships to the CCMA conference for cooperative businesses in Philadelphia this June!

Friday night, I darted to Best Buy after work (where I was surprised to receive really poor customer service- usually they jump on you right as you walk in the door, but this crew didn’t want to even be bothered to make a sale) to purchase a new camera. While it charged overnight, I went to my co-leader’s house for a Girl Scout sleepover (although I didn’t stay the night) with the high school troop. They had a good time making jewelry and eating brownies.

Saturday morning I was up bright and early, anticipating the highlight of the whole weekend- The Dirty Girl Mud Run!

The Fembots Team

I ran the 5K obstacle course (in the mud) with my sister-in-law, mother-in-law, and friend. Since the event was to benefit breast cancer research, we thought an appropriate team name would be “The Fembots,” a la Austin Powers.

Mud Pit

Walking into the race area, we got a preview of the last obstacle- An enormous mud pit! Other obstacles included a 10ft wall climb, 20-30ft cargo net climb, mud up to my waist, rappelling down hillsides, and crawling through muddy tunnels.

Starting Line

Every 15 minutes, a wave began, totaling 8000 women running.

Shoe Pile

After an exhilarating run through the course, we tossed our mud caked sneakers into the donation pile and headed to the hose-off tent.

Team Fembots After

We were covered in mud and in high spirits after the run. We celebrated with a group fist pump before cashing in our free beer tickets.

Anne Retirement Party

After dashing back to Bethlehem, I jumped in the shower and went to catch the end of my professor and mentor’s Cinco De Mayo retirement party. I rushed in just in time to hear the toasts.

Anne's Stuff

Sunday morning, I picked up some Jumbars breakfast to go and went to my old stomping grounds in Moravian’s art department to help my former professor pack and sort her old office items. An artist’s office is always full of the most fascinating objects.

Dandelion & Potato Soup

Sunday afternoon, I set to work preparing some quick to reheat meals for dinners this week, including this dandelion & potato soup.

Spinach, mushroom & ham quiche ingredients

I also made a spinach, ham, and mushroom quiche.

Spring Brunch Pizza

I also made this spring pizza for our Sunday dinner, topped with pesto, potatoes, duck eggs, wild garlic, arugula, and fromage blanc. It was delightful! The recipe will be posted this week, just in time for Mother’s Day brunch!

So, all in all, the weekend made up for a lousy preceding week. Here’s to better weekdays to come!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

