A Farewell to Peaches

The end of peach season is approaching, which makes me inconsolably sad. I didn’t get to make peach küchen this year! I did get to share a piece of the creamy goodness from Karen’s Sweets with my husband, but it’s not the same. Don’t get me wrong, hers was delicious, but it didn’t fill my house with that late summer smell of peaches, cinnamon and custard that I look forward to each year. I also didn’t get to go pick my own bushels full of the juicy fuzzballs like I love to do. Next year, I promise to pay proper attention to my favorite fruit!

Before I ran out of peaches, though, I did get to make this homage to the peach. Run out and get some before they are all gone and mix up this pie! The rosemary will leave you speechless. My husband and sister-in-law almost ate all the topping before it was served!

Granola-Crusted Peach Pie with Rosemary Scented Crumbs

Ingredients:

filling & crust ingredients

filling & crust ingredients

crumb topping ingredients

crumb topping ingredients

  • 1/2 c. (1 stick) butter, divided
  • 1 1/4 c. granola (Jumbars)
  • 4 peaches (Bechdolt’s Orchard)
  • 1/2 c. sugar, divided
  • 1.5 oz. bourbon whiskey
  • few tablespoons honey (Rush Apiaries)
  • cinnamon to taste
  • 1/2 c. flour
  • sprig of rosemary (my garden)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Chop granola to coarse crumbs in food processor.
  3. Melt 1/4 c. butter (half stick) and mix with granola crumbs.
  4. Press granola mixture on bottom and up sides of pie plate.
  5. Bake crust for 10 minutes.
  6. Meanwhile, peel and slice peaches.
  7. Mix with 1/4 c. sugar, bourbon, honey and cinnamon.
  8. Fill crust with peaches.

    filled crust

    filled crust

  9. Finely chop rosemary.
  10. Using a pastry blender or two forks, combine remaining half stick of butter, 1/4 c. sugar, 1/2 c. flour, cinnamon and rosemary until mixture becomes crumbly.
  11. Sprinkle crumb topping over peaches.
  12. Bake for 30-40 minutes, or until peaches are tender.

    finished pie

    I will never make another peach pie without rosemary.

One response to “A Farewell to Peaches

Leave a Reply

