Weekend Hodgepodge

Oh wait, I just blinked Friday and woke up at my desk today! What a busy weekend. Friday night was a blur of housecleaning and laundry in preparation for Sunday’s cookout. I got to try my new Mrs. Meyer’s cleaning products, which smelled so good I almost didn’t despise scrubbing the stove.

Saturday morning, I woke up bright and early to start food prep for Sunday. I started with dessert, an apple pumpkin tart, using the pumpkin purée I prepared last week.

Apple Pumpkin Goodness

I think this is called a Dutch Tart? Or Pie? I really don't know, but it was delicious and you should try it when I post the recipe.

While the tart was baking, I said hello to my sister-in-law as she popped off of her homecoming float as the parade passed my house and listened to the start of Moravian’s football game.

Next, I was off to my co-leader’s house to help our high school age Girl Scout troop sew Girl Scout themed travel pillows to sell as a fundraiser. I forgot my camera at home when I left! ME, without my camera! I felt naked, like if you are used to wearing a piece of jewelry or watch and for some reason you don’t wear it one day. So, to illustrate this afternoon portion of my weekend, I am resorting to using someone else’s image. Egads! I found this image on this awesome sewing/crafting blog: Knick Knacks and Ric Rac.

Girl Scouts Sewing

We weren't in these cool old uniforms (or any uniforms for that matter), but we did actually cover some of the pillows with that awesome fabric.

Slot Machine Piggy Bank

Arriving home, I discovered this kitschy slot machine piggy bank in my bedroom. I am sure my husband had something to do with its appearance, but I'm not sure I want to know where it came from ...

Getting back to the kitchen, I started to create marinades for the several varieties of meat my husband and his friends had requested for grilling.

Beef Marinating

Beef marinating in red wine, oregano and thyme.

Pork Marinade

Pork marinating in white wine, rosemary, honey and orange peel.

I also marinated chicken (and forgot to take a picture—boy, I was off my game this weekend!)—One batch in honey garlic barbecue and the other in Asian soy-sesame.

After a bit more straightening of the house, we collapsed into bed, looking forward to all of our friends coming to visit the next day.

Sunday we woke up to breakfast from Jumbars, our favorite Sunday routine.

Jumbars Strata

In a move out of character for myself, I ordered the same breakfast strata that I did last weekend—It's just soooo amazingly yummy!

The food prep began again, with my husband jumping in to lend a hand.

Kevin Herb Potatoes

Kevin mixes up some herbed potatoes to foil pack on the grill.

Chili Maple Sweet Potatoes

Chili Maple Sweet Potatoes, ready to be wrapped for the grill.

Around one o’clock, people began arriving. We ran out of tin foil, so there was a slight delay in getting foil packs on the flame, but by two o’clock there was a stream of food and a porch full of hungry friends. Throughout the afternoon and night, thirteen of our friends (plus an adorable baby girl!!!) came by to chow down on some tasty food and have a great time.

Grilled Eggplant

The first thing off the grill was some olive-oil and herb brushed eggplant. Supposedly one of our friends was converted into an eggplant fan by this dish!

Grilled Romaine Salad

We also tried grilling romaine for the first time. I think it could have used a couple more minutes on the grill, but the smokey flavor that came out in the lettuce was quite nice!

Kevin's Herby Potatoes

Kevin's Herby Potatoes were a hit!

Grilled Peppers & Onions

Peppers and onions from the grill basket are always a good compliment!

Meat

By the time I got to the skewer-cooked meat, this was all that was left to photograph!

Sage Cauliflower

We grilled up this yellow cauliflower, then topped it with butter and fresh sage. The cauliflower became nutty from grilling and paired excellently with sage.

Quoits

As the sun lowered, we brought out the quoits boards for a quick game. The party didn't end with the daylight, though, as we said goodbye to our last guest at 11:45pm, thus explaining my sleepiness and late posting of Weekend Hodgepodge!

 

Leave a Reply

