Is That Spaghetti?

Last week, I purchased a spaghetti squash from Jett’s Natural Produce. I was hesitant to try it after an awful microwave-cooking attempt a couple of years ago, but I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to give this fake-out food another try. I’ve got to say that spaghetti squash intrigues me, but disturbs me a bit at the same time. It’s ability to transform from what looks like any other winter squash into a pile of noodle-like substance is beyond my comprehension. It tastes great and is a fantastic healthy option when you are in the mood for Italian, but there’s something of a mind trip for me to get over.

On this attempt, I stuck with the oven as my cooking method, and the results were much better than from the microwave. Paired with a fresh tomato sauce concocted with some of my last tomato harvest and some basil I had chopped and frozen with just a touch of water in ice cube trays, this was a great inexpensive and nutrition packed meal to have after an energetic Zumba workout. Plus, aside from the sprinkling of cheese my husband added on at the last moment, this meal is vegan!

Spaghetti Squash with Fresh Tomato Sauce

Ingredients:

Ingredients

Fresh flavors create this healthy meal

  • 1 medium spaghetti squash (Jett’s Natural Produce)
  • 2 T. olive oil
  • a few scallions (Jett’s Natural Produce)
  • 2 cloves garlic (Apple Ridge Farm)
  • 2 c. cherry tomatoes (my garden)
  • 4 T. fresh basil (I harvested from my garden, coarsely chopped it, then packed it into ice cube trays with just enough water to hold the leaves together when it froze. I thawed these for the recipe.)
  • sprinkling of cheese, optional (garlic herb from Keepsake Farm)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 375°.
  2. Cut spaghetti squash in half lengthwise and place halves cut side down in baking dish. Add 1/2″ water to pan.
  3. Bake squash halves for 45 minutes or until skin is easily pierced with a fork.
  4. Meanwhile, heat olive oil in large skillet over medium heat.
  5. Chop garlic and white ends of scallion (reserving green tops) and add to skillet. Cook for 2 minutes.
  6. Halve tomatoes and add to skillet with basil.
  7. Cook and stir over medium-low heat until tomatoes have softened and formed a saucy base.
  8. When squash is finished, remove from oven and carefully flip halves over. Use a spoon to scrape seeds from center.
  9. Using a fork, separate the squash flesh into strands and add to skillet, tossing with sauce. Slice green tops of scallions and add to skillet. Sprinkle with cheese if desired and slurp the “noodles” down!
Spaghetti Squash

A light yet satisfying meal.

4 responses to “Is That Spaghetti?

Leave a Reply

