Apple Abundance

After apple picking this weekend, I found myself with a full bushel of four mixed varieties of apples. I hope to learn how to can in the very near future so that I can turn some of them into apple chutney, apple butter, etc.. Sure, there are tutorials online, but I really would rather have someone who knows how to can present for my first attempt—I really don’t want to give anyone botulism. So, until I find someone to give a lesson or decide to throw caution to the wind and try the directions I’ve seen online, I am coming up with other things to do with my bins full of apples.

Below, you’ll find instructions for my first two creations: apple chips and apple sauce. Both use the same ingredients and are ridiculously simple. Take my advice, use parchment paper on the baking sheets for the apple chips. I didn’t have any and thought they would be okay on a non-stick pan—I was wrong. After quite a bit of delicate peeling and chiseling, I managed to pull off about half the apples. They were delicious, but the parchment paper would have saved frustration and doubled my chip-age!

Apple Chips

Ingredients:

Ingredients

Use as many apples as you'd like!

  • Apples (I used 4 Ida Reds from Strawberry Acres)
  • Seasonings to your taste (I used cinnamon, ginger and garam masala)
  1. Preheat oven to 200°.
  2. Very thinly slice apples (the thinner the better!), using a mandolin or food processor slicing blade if you have one. No need to peel or core the apples, just pick out the seeds.
  3. Place apple slices in single layer on parchment paper lined baking sheet.
  4. Sprinkle with seasonings.

    Apple Slices

    Ready to bake (note the lack of parchment paper ... not good)

  5. Bake 30 minutes, then flip slices and return to oven for another 30-45 minutes, or until crisp and the edges have curled.
  6. Cool and store in an airtight container.
Apple Chips

Addictive!

 

Slow Cooker Applesauce (No Sugar Added)

Ingredients:

Ingredients

You'll also need some water.

  • 4-6 apples, or enough to fill your slow cooker (I used a mix of Melrose, Mutsu and Ida Red from Strawberry Acres)
  • seasonings to taste (I used cinnamon and ginger)
  • 1/4-1/2 c. water

Directions:

  1. Core the apples and cut them into wedges. No need to peel them—That’s where the good stuff is!
  2. Place apples in slow cooker.
  3. Add desired seasonings to taste.
  4. Pour 1/4-1/2 c. water over apples (depending on how thick you like your sauce). Mix all ingredients.
  5. Cover and cook on low setting for about 6 hours, or until apples are soft.
  6. Use an immersion blender to purée the sauce (or transfer to blender or food processor or food mill to purée). The skins will give a lovely reddish color.
  7. Enjoy warm or cold!
2 responses to “Apple Abundance

Leave a Reply

