Everything Gonna Be Irie

Last night, we said goodbye to our sweet Irie. She was my first free-roaming pet—a loving companion, loyal, hilarious, “voluptuous,” and affectionate.

Irie

RIP Irie

Irie Sleeping

Pure Embodiment of Irie

In Rastafarian language, Irie means:

1: To be at total peace with your current state of being. The way you feel when you have no worries. 2: Powerful and pleasing. 3: Excellent, highest. 4: The state of feeling great. 5: IRIE stands for I Respect I Eternally. Meaning you have respect for yourself; being happy with who you are. 6: To be at peace and harmony with your self and the status quo of your existence. 7: Jamaican term for everything is good, higher self, serenity. 8: To be happy, to be high, most commonly used by Jamaicans.

Her name could not have been more fitting.

I never before could have comprehended how it feels to make the tough decision to help a pet by ending her suffering. It sucks, for real. I can’t quite look anywhere in the house without remembering how she loved to sit on the ottoman near the window, or how she’d come running when she heard the plastic bowl for her wet food come out of the cabinet.

There’s not much sense in me hashing over the details of the sad trip to the vet emergency room or describing the aftermath as Kevin and I bumble around the house, trying to adjust to the encompassing silence without her purring. We are just trying to remember the meaning of her name, for that is the gift she brought to us—A feeling of peace and harmony.

Instead, I will simply post this song—Feel Irie, by Lucky Dube:

How long shall you carry
That burden on your shoulders?
How long shall those tears
Keep running down
Your beautiful face?
We all have troubles
Now and again, know what I’m saying?

No matter how hard we try,
Trouble will find us one way or another.
People had troubles since the pope
Was an altar boy
People had worries from when the
Dead Sea was only critical
Hear those drums running and
Listen to those guitars skanking
Yeah… Put a smile on your face
Don’t let the troubles get you down
Shoop shoop doo doo
Put a smile on your face
Don’t let the troubles get you down

Let me tell you how we feel
We feel irie
Irie!
We feel irie
Irie!
We feel irie yeah yeah
Irie
We feel so irie
Irie!

Tell me,
Do you feel like we do?
Do you feel like we do?
I say,
Do you feel like we do?

No man can hide from his fears
Since they are part of him
They always know where to find him,
Come on walk tall and
Keep your head high

I tell you again and again
Put a smile on your face,
Don’t let the troubles
Get you down
Shoop shoop doo doo
Put a smile on your face,
Don’t let the troubles
Get you down

We feel irie
Irie!
We feel irie yeah
Irie!
We feel irie
Irie!
We feel irie yeah
Irie!

Tell me,
Do you feel like we do?
Do you feel like we do?
Tell me now,
Do you feel like we do?
’cause we feel irie
Irie!
We feel irie yeah
Irie!
We feel irie
Irie!
We feel so irie
Irie!

Do you feel like we do?
listen now,
Put a smile on your face,
Don’t let the troubles
Get you down
Shoop shoop doo doo

Put a smile on your face,
Don’t let the troubles
Get you down
shoop shoop doo doo

Put a smile on your face,
Don’t let the troubles
Get you down
shoop shoop doo doo

7 responses to “Everything Gonna Be Irie

  • ltgustin

    I’ve been looking for names to name my new kitties (whenever I end up getting them, once I have a house and not an apartment) and I love the definitions of Irie. Sorry about your loss Coleen, I know how hard it is :-/

  • rob

    I know all too well how hard it is to lose a cat. I still wonder why my Freddy isn’t ready to jump into my lap whenever I am wearing his favorite shirt (he was only a lap cat when I had that shirt on). No other cat can replace the bond we had, but each cat brings a unique pleasure to their human companions.
    My only advice on this time you are filled with sorrow is to bring another cat into your life quickly. It might feel like you are cheating, but the individuality of a feline companion will certainly help you get to a better place.

  • savethekales

    I’m reading this in a public place and can barely hold it together.

    Colleen, what a lovely tribute to Irie who we all came to know and love especially in the last few weeks. I know you and Kevin will continue to live out the meaning of her name. With Love.

  • Jodi Kale

    I saw the Save the Kales’ FB posts over the holidays and voted for your kitty. I just read about your kitty on her subsequent FB post. SO sorry to hear of your loss. She’ll always be with you. Take care.

  • Kris

    I am so sorry to hear about Irie! She will always be a part of your life in your memories. I hope you find some peace of your own in this sorrowful time. My thoughts are with you and Kevin.

  • Day of Silence | Save the Kales!

    […] Read FROM HERE NOW: Everything Gonna Be Irie […]

Leave a Reply

