Beef & Cheddar on a Whole New Level

We’ve been insane-o busy lately, so speedy food has been a necessity. However, when you are not eating processed foods or stopping at fast food joints, it can seem a bit impossible to have a fulfilling meal in a hurry. If you make the tortillas ahead, my quesadillas (inspired by Taco Bell) are ready in mere moments. One of Kevin’s favorite fast food items was the beef and cheddar sandwich from Arby’s. So, with that fast food in mind, I whipped up a batch of these undeniably tastier (and healthier!) beef and cheddars on a night we were tight on time. You’ll notice that I did use a packaged bread item—Thomas’ English Muffins—as the base for these open faced mounds of yumminess … While I rarely buy grocery store bread items anymore, I passed an endcap of these on my way to the cat litter and could not turn down a buy 1, get 2 free deal! In the future, I would probably pile these toppings on a locally baked or homemade whole wheat or onion roll, but these were really great, too!

Open Faced Beef and Cheddar Sandwiches
Could be made with a top, too, for taking on the road! Just put a bit less filling and pop on a top.

Ingredients:

Ingredients

Ingredients

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 350°.
  2. Dice onion.
  3. Cook onion and chipsteak in large skillet over medium-high heat until meat is browned and onions are translucent.
  4. Split English muffins and arrange, nooks & crannies side up, on baking sheet.
  5. Spread 1 T. creamy garlic dressing on each muffin half.
  6. Distribute spinach evenly muffins.
  7. Divide beef and onion mixture evenly over spinach.
  8. Thinly slice cheddar cheese and distribute evenly over meat.
  9. Bake for about 10 minutes, or until cheese is melted.
  10. Enjoy!
Better than Arby's!

Better than Arby's!

2 responses to “Beef & Cheddar on a Whole New Level

  • Don

    These look so good. Bare with me here for a second but I made a sharp cheddar and pepper jack cheese sauce last night. I am thinking if I were to leave the dressing off (or keep it), add a poached egg I could top it with the cheese sauce and have an awesome twist on eggs Benedict. I’m going to try them like you made them first though 🙂

    • fromherenow

      Sounds fantastic, Don! There’s very rarely a recipe I follow to a T, so I wouldn’t ever expect someone else to exactly follow mine! Glad to have provided a bit o’ inspiration.

Leave a Reply

