Weekend Hodgepodge

I had one goal for this weekend: to catch up on sleep! This week was sooo busy, with a viewing, a service unit camping meeting, two co-op meetings, and a tour of a conservation area, plus a full load of projects at work, so I was exhausted.Well, I learned that I’ve crossed that grown-up threshold where it’s impossible to sleep past 8 o’clock in the morning. I did, however, sneak in two power naps, which is totally out of the ordinary for me, so I do feel a bit refreshed, despite what turned out to be a pretty active weekend.

A Memory, a Monologue, a Rant and a Prayer

Friday evening, I met a few of my friends for dinner at Horns, then headed to the Banana Factory to see a performance of "A Memory, a Monologue, a Rant and a Prayer." The V-Day performance was heavy, focusing on themes of violence towards women. Here, Karly Ann Griffin fiercely performs "To Stop the Violence Against Women."

Tober on my lap

Kevin went boating until well after midnight, so after doing some freelance design work, I waited up for him while watching some Netflix and having a beer, with Tober on my lap.

Last Chance Ranch Alpacas

On Saturday morning, I set out with my co-leader to Quakertown for a field trip with the Brownie troop. We visited Last Chance Ranch, an animal rescue. These alpacas were staring each other down. Other animals included turkeys, donkeys, a pot-bellied pig, horses, cats, dogs, and chickens.

Brownies Donkey

I have so many adorable pictures from this trip, but I won't post any on this blog that show the girls' faces. Here, some of the girls pet a donkey.

Mini Horse

The girls especially loved this mini-horse, which was about the same height as them! The troop donated $100, some homemade dog treats, and homemade horse treats.

Spinach & Smoked Turkey Quiche

Saturday afternoon was pretty lazy. I took a nap, watched a "Hungry for Change," and worked on a bunch of design jobs. I also made this crustless spinach and smoked turkey quiche.

Jumbars Breakfast

Sunday morning started off with breakfast from Jumbars- oatmeal with fresh fruit and a grilled berry muffin for me!

Prince Palace Dumpling House Lunch

Sunday morning was also pretty low-key, with a bunch of work on things for the co-op and a little power nap. For lunch, we picked up a few dollars worth of take out from Prince Palace Dumpling House. I had a Chinese sandwich and a scallion cake. I hadn't even know what a Chinese sandwich was! It was really tasty- Veggies and chicken in a sweet soy sauce on a soft sesame bread.

Lehigh River

A little fed up with how lazy the earlier part of the weekend was, we took a bike ride down the canal path towards Freemansburg on Sunday afternoon.

Turtle

Lots of old storm damage was causing some trash backups in the canal, and algae is already starting to bloom. We saw this turtle hanging out on a log in the midst of it all.

Afro Duck

After our bike ride, we drove out to Klein Farms to pick up a little mozzarella. We said hello to my favorite animal there- This afro duck I've nicknamed Thomas Jefferson!

Mule

We also became acquainted with the Klein's new mules! This one was so soft!

Pea Shoot Stir Fry

Finally, we returned home to make some ice cream and have some pea shoot stir-fry (recipe to come soon!). The last part of the weekend was spent doing some more design and watching old episodes of the X-Files.

 

Leave a Reply

