This One’s for the Dogs

I am a Girl Scout leader, helping lead four troops of girls from Kindergarten-12th grade. This is my 20th year as a Girl Scout, and I can’t even begin to express how important the people I’ve encountered through the program have been in my life. I can only hope that the girls I lead will get something as valuable out of GS as I have myself.

The Brownie troop I lead has been working on a Journey project all year. I won’t get into how I feel about these new sorts of programs in scouts, but lets just say I am not a huge fan. Despite my personal opinions about the program, I wanted to give the girls the opportunity to earn the award that goes along with it. The final step of the project involves taking action within the community. The girls decided to reach out to Last Chance Ranch, a local animal and equine rescue.

The girls made dog and horse treats to bring to the shelter, plus, they donated $100 of their cookie money to the organization. After the original batch of 300 dog treats went moldy before we got to deliver them, I called Bone Appetit Bakery for advice. The dog treat baker was extremely helpful and gave me tips to perfect the recipe I had found online, allowing the treats to stay fresh for months. So, for all of you puppy parents out there, here’s a recipe for some natural peanut butter treats your dog is sure to enjoy!

Peanut Butter Dog Biscuits
Makes 3-4 dozen treats (1-2″ diameter)

Ingredients:

Ingredients

Ingredients

  • 2 tablespoons vegetable or canola oil
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter (all-natural or organic)
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/2 cups white flour

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 275 degrees.
  2. Whisk together oil, peanut butter, and water.
  3. Gradually add flour, stirring until a stiff dough is formed.
  4. Knead dough into smooth ball.
  5. Roll dough to 1/4″ thick and use cookie cutters to cut out treats, placing them on a parchment lined baking sheet.
  6. Bake for 40 minutes.
  7. Reduce heat to 200 degrees and bake for an additional 40 minutes.
  8. Turn off oven, crack open door, and allow treats to sit in oven for 2 hours, or overnight.
  9. Store treats in airtight container.
Dog Treats

Peanut Butter Dog Treats

One response to “This One’s for the Dogs

Leave a Reply

