Weekend Hodgepodge

Whoo … I am still sleepy from this weekend! It was a great couple of days, full of awesome people, adventures, and productivity.

Porch Sitting

On Friday after work, I enjoyed basking in the warm sunshine with a couple of co-op friends on a rooftop deck. Porch sitting is one of my favorite warm weather activities, made infinitely better with cool people and fresh fruit!

Tapas on Main

Later that evening, some other friends and I walked downtown to share a pitcher of sangria at Tapas on Main. My best friend Emily and her partner, Jenn, hammed it up for the camera.

After a fantastic evening with friends, I came home to relax and get to bed early so I could wake up early for a busy Saturday. Unfortunately, my plans for a restful night were not so successful, as my husband was night fishing in his canoe on Lake Nockamixon, which always leaves my over-anxious mind turning until he comes home. He finally came home around 1am, only to turn around and leave again to try to find his missing hat and fishing license. He didn’t find the hat, and we didn’t get to bed until about 4:30am.

Pancake Breakfast

Saturday morning, I was still up bright and early to go to Applebees, where my high school Girl Scout troop served a pancake breakfast as a fundraiser. They worked hard, but the effort was worth it in the end!

Bake Oven Knob

Following the fundraiser, and after fueling up on caffeine, my co-leader and I took a few of the girls up to the Appalachian Trail for a hike to Bake Oven Knob. The girls had a good time pretending to "rescue" each other from the side of the rocks.

Bake Oven Knob

Despite the copious amounts of graffiti, the views from Bake Oven Knob are always excellent. Even better are the views from the Bear Rocks, where we hoped to hike to, but postponed due to the threat of thunderstorms.

El Paisano Taqueria

As I returned to Bethlehem, the clouds were growing thicker, so my husband and I raced the rain drops to walk to this new Mexican restaurant in our neighborhood.

Chicken Tacos

The food was great- Fresh and authentic. I wound down the day, listening to the rain and enjoying these chicken tacos, topped with cilantro, onions, and lime juice.

Jumbars Oatmeal

Sunday morning was dreary, with a threat of strong (much needed) rain. We picked up some breakfast from Jumbars. Oatmeal with fresh fruit was the perfect choice for the cool and cloudy morning.

Planning

Since the rain cancelled our plans to go skeet shooting, I curled up with a blanket and planned the rest of the Girl Scout year for the Brownie troop. I also buckled down and got some freelance design work done and tried not to let the melancholy weather get under my skin too much.

Italian Meatloaf

Sunday night wrapped up with homemade Italian meatloaf and pesto-roasted veggies. We hit the hay for an early night to try and catch up on sleep. I'm still catching up now!

Leave a Reply

